Coming to Gebser not via Wilbur

(Kevin Barrett) #1

I’m watching the YouTube stream of our first talk, and to respond to Marco’s question if anyone has reached Gebser through means other than Ken Wilbur—yes! Insofar as I have no experience with either and found Winter of Origins through a mailing list.

I’m interested in exploring Wilbur after EPO and am curious how the order will affect my impressions of him.

(Lynlee Lyckberg) #2

I came to Gebser through William Irwin Thompson and not Wilber.

(Ed Mahood) #3

Heh, heh, heh … I got to Wilbur through Gebser and quickly realized that Ken should have given Hans a lot more credit than he did. While Wilbur became widely popular I never saw that anything he added or modified really added any value to Gebser’s approach, which I found simpler, more to the point, and more well-founded.

(Marco V Morelli) #4

Glad to have you all here. Coming from the world of Wilber (it’s Wilber with an ‘er’ btw; Wilbur always makes me think of the pig from Charlotte’s Web), I was getting a little worried.

You’re diving into the deep end, @kevboh. Some find Wilber hard, but he has also simplified and popularized himself in many different books and other media, so there are beginner’s access points. And, he’s an American and speaks in ways that are generally more familiar.

Gebser I’m finding particularly challenging, now that I’m digging in, partly because his knowledge of art and cultural history is so acute and his larger points are so intimately grounded in these historical examples. I think you have to engage with the details more, whereas as Wilber emphasizes what he calls “orienting generalizations” and the details don’t tend to matter as much to him; in fact they’re practically dispensable or interchangeable.

In any event, I hope you stick with it. I think David Foster Wallace would have appreciated Gebser. I could imagine allusions to him in James O. Incandenza’s fictional films.