On William Blake

Hello all,

Has anyone here more than a passing familiarity with William Blake’s work? I am currently undertaking intense research into his oeuvre, in particular how his images speak to and complement his texts, and would love to converse with anyone with some knowledge of/ideas about Blake and his work. I’m thinking it might eventually be a good Cafe topic, once I have had a chance to finish my current effort which I will be presenting to a conference in mid June.

4 Likes

Hi Geoffrey,

I am not an expert on Blake in any way, nor do I know very much specifically about the relationship between text and image in his work. Having said that, the literary and religious critic Harold Bloom, who is a personal hero of mine, has written quite extensively about Blake (you probably already know this), in Visionary Company. Bloom as a young man, as he has written about, was ferociously obsessed with another book about Blake, Fearful Symmetry, by Northrop Frye - I’m sure you are familiar with this book as a Blake scholar. My understanding is that it was the first attempt to view Blake as a systematic and rigorous thinker (and not just a madman with certain visionary gleams). Bloom claims he read the book I think hundreds of times. I would like to learn more about Blake, and so I look forward to following this thread. Thank you for posting.

5 Likes