Integral Literary Theory - an iteration

I’m not really sure why I am writing this now, as I’m at work and should probably be doing something…different.

But I’ve been thinking about this integral literary theory business for some time, and wanted to throw it out there, to see if anything sticks, or if anyone else is interested in this.

I started thinking about this because there has long been a simmering and out-in-the-open animosity between a critic like Harold Bloom, who is a devout Romantic and “aesthetic critic,” and various other critics, historicists, “symptomatic critics” (Wilber phrase), formalists, etc.

I suppose in some ways my interest in integral theory is personal - I have been a sort of student of Bloom’s for many years, and I’ve accepted many of his criticisms of historicism and Foucault as…commonplace? But after reading Integral Spirituality, I am wondering if Bloom is actually first and foremost a phenomenologist, interested in the UL, in consciousness (zone 1) and aesthetics, and that he is critical of the structuralists (zone 2) because he can’t in some ways see their arguments, he can’t see the outside of his own zone 1 view.

While I was thinking about this, I took out a book by M.H. Abrams from the 1950’s (though it’s been reissued I think a few times) called The Mirror and the Lamp. Abrams was interested in exploring the evolution of aesthetic theory, from the use of the mirror as the dominant metaphor (mimesis, emphasis on the external in some sense, whether actual or ideal), to the use of the lamp as the dominant metaphor (Romanticism, emphasis on the poet and the internal, expressivism). Abrams even came up with a handy chart, which locates what he considers to be the four main aesthetic theories, which focus respectively on 1. the Work, 2. the Poet, 3. the Audience, and 4. the Universe.