The Weird Studies Podcast

Hello friends,

I thought I’d start a topic here on a new podcast that Phil Ford and I started in February, called Weird Studies. It’s an art and philosophy podcast centered on the elusive concept of the weird as it occurs in various disciplines, contexts and modalities. I think a lot of people here would dig it.

I’m going to post new episodes here as they come up.

Our latest, which just came out this afternoon, is on Graham Harman’s essay “The Third Table,” which serves as a primer for the “object-oriented philosophy” he inaugurated:

A few weeks ago, we did one with Erik Davis: http://www.weirdstudies.com/4

Phil Ford is a musicologist at the Jacob’s School of Music at the University of Indiana, Bloomington, and I’m a freelance director and writer whom you might remember from stuff that appeared at Metapsy in the past.

I hope to get more involved here in the future. Some really interesting conversations going on. Hope you enjoy the podcast!

All best,
JF

5 Likes

Perfection of the Weird! You may have browsed our brief discussion on podcasting and the difficulty of discovering certain genres of podcasts, your weird one included. The Cosmos can be a trusted friend to guide us towards worthy weirdness. Looking forwards to catching up.

2 Likes

I hadn’t seen that thread. Thanks for sharing it. Hope you enjoy WS.

Hi @jfmartel ~ I just listened to your podcast episode with Erik Davis and Phil Ford. First of all, nice work on the podcast itself, from conception to production—it’s perfect in a way. I love the cover art, with the corvids on the lettering and eerie abstract swerving; the music reminiscent of stranger things; the whole aesthetic is spot on. And I think you keep the concept interesting precisely through your resistance, as you discuss in the dialogue, to collapsing the weird into the known.